GUIDE · TAB SIZES · 12 SECTIONS

Female Spade Connector Sizes: Match the Tab First, Then the Wire Range, Shape and Insulation

By VoltixC Engineering Team · Last updated: 2026-09-28

Fast answer: Female spade connector sizes start with tab width and thickness, such as 0.187 or 0.250 inch, and then the wire range the barrel accepts. Match male and female parts on the same tab size, choose straight or flag shape for the layout, and pick vinyl, nylon or fully insulated construction for the crimp and environment.

A technician replacing a thermostat pulls the old receptacle off a flat tab and needs a new one for that same tab. Calipers go on the tab before anyone looks at the wire. After the tab come the wire band for the barrel and the clearance in front of the tab, which decides between a straight and a flag body; the sleeve depends on the job. VoltixC lists 52 quick disconnect terminals in six series, each offered in 22-16, 16-14 and 12-10 AWG, within its crimp connectors range.

AT A GLANCE · 12 SPECS

Female spade connector sizes at a glance: which numbers define the fit?

Two numbers from the male tab define the fit, its width and its thickness, and the wire band and the sleeve are chosen after them.

SpecWhat to confirmWorking value
Tab widthNominal width of the male tab on the deviceUL 310 applies to quick-connect terminals, both connectors and tabs, with nominal widths of 2.8, 3.2, 4.8, 5.2 and 6.3 mm (0.110, 0.125, 0.187, 0.205 and 0.250 in)
Tab thicknessThickness of the same tab, read across its edgeBurndy’s QP-F listing shows NEMA tab sizes of 0.11 × 0.02, 0.19 × 0.02, 0.25 × 0.03 and 0.38 × 0.05 in (width × thickness), and marks the 0.38 in items ‘Not cULus’
Metric tab familyTab width stated in mm on a European drawingIEC 61210 applies to non-insulated flat quick-connect terminations with a male tab of 2.8, 4.8, 6.3 or 9.5 mm, with hole or dimple detents, and a mating female connector
Wire range in AWGConductor band that the barrel acceptsUL 310 requirements apply to quick-connect terminals for one or two 26–10 AWG copper conductors and do not apply to terminals for aluminum conductors
Wire range in mm²Cross-section and conductor buildIEC 61210 covers copper conductors up to 6 mm² flexible or rigid stranded, or up to 2.5 mm² rigid solid, excludes aluminium, and limits rated voltage to 1,000 V AC / 1,500 V DC
VoltixC wire bandsBand on the item you order22-16, 16-14 and 12-10 AWG (0.5-1.5, 1.5-2.5 and 4-6 mm²) in each of the six series
Gender and shapeMale tab or female receptacle; straight or flagFDD, FDFD and FDFN straight female; FLDNY flag female; MDD and MDFN male
VoltixC tab sizesMating tab printed for each part number2.8 to 9.4 mm wide and 0.5, 0.8 or 1.2 mm thick, nine sizes across 52 part numbers
SleeveVinyl, nylon or fully insulatedPVC (vinyl) on FDD, FDFD and MDD; nylon on FDFN, FLDNY and MDFN
Body and platingBase metal and finishTin-plated copper on FDD; tin-plated brass on FDFD, FDFN, FLDNY, MDD and MDFN
Colour bandWhat the sleeve colour stands forColour ranges vary by maker; the VoltixC sheets are color-coded red for 22-16 AWG, blue for 16-14 AWG and yellow for 12-10 AWG
Contact wear in testsHow a lab decides a joint has worn outOne fretting study measured the time and cycles needed to reach a 100 mΩ resistance threshold, a research threshold and not a standard limit

Source: VoltixC rows per supplier specification sheet, not individually re-tested; other rows from the sources cited below.

Put the width and the thickness on one line as a pair, then the wire band, and only after that a series name; the item tables further down follow the same order.

Also asked asShort answerCovered in
female quick disconnect terminal sizes; female disconnect terminal sizes; female spade terminal sizesThe same question as female spade connector sizes: the width and thickness of the mating tab first, then the wire bandTab width and thickness section
quick disconnect terminal sizes; electrical blade connector sizesThe blade is the male tab, and its width and thickness are the size; each receptacle is made for one pairTab width and thickness section
male spade connector sizesThe same pair, read on the male part; VoltixC MDD and MDFN tabs run from 2.8 to 6.35 mm wide on the supplier sheetsVoltixC tab chart and series list
quick disconnect terminal size chart; female spade connector size chartThe VoltixC chart lists nine tab sizes, 2.8 to 9.4 mm wide, with the series and wire bands made for eachVoltixC tab chart
common sizes of spade terminalsOn the VoltixC sheets, 6.35 mm is the one tab width offered in all six seriesVoltixC tab chart
16-14 gauge spade connector sizes16-14 AWG (1.5-2.5 mm², blue sleeve on the VoltixC sheets) comes with tabs from 2.8 to 9.4 mm wideWire gauge and colour section
color-coded spade connectorsThe colour marks the wire band, not the tab, and other makers’ colour bands can differWire gauge and colour section
how to insulate a spade connectorChoose a PVC (vinyl) or nylon sleeve, or a fully insulated body that also covers the mating pointInsulation section
spade connectors for automotive wiringTab sizes are read the same way; automotive harness terminal systems are outside the VoltixC list, so ask before you specifyNot covered here
DEFINITION · TAB AND RECEPTACLE

What is a quick disconnect, and how do the tab and receptacle work?

A quick disconnect is a crimp joint in two halves, a flat male tab and a female receptacle that slides onto it, so a wire can be unplugged and plugged back in without tools.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
The two halves look alike in a mixed bagLook at the front end. According to Burndy, a female quick disconnect has a receptacle front end that slides onto and off a male bladeThe part with the rolled, open front is the female
A catalogue says slip-on, fast-on, push-on or bladeRead these as names for the same tab-and-receptacle family and ask for the tab size behind the nameThe quotation gives a width and a thickness, not only a name
The device has a screw or a terminal strip, not a tabUse a fork or spade that clamps under the screw head, from the insulated spade terminals rangeA screw head sits where the joint goes
The device has a threaded studSize a ring terminal with the ring terminal lookup toolThe stud diameter is on the drawing
Two loose wire ends meet in lineJoin them with a pin and socket; the crimp routine is in the bullet connector crimping guideNeither end is fixed to a component
The joint will be opened for serviceKeep the quick disconnect, since the receptacle pulls off the tab by handThe replacement part plugs onto the same tab
The tab is punched into a switch, relay or heaterMeasure that fixed tab before you choose a receptacleWidth and thickness are written on the order line

Spade terminal and female spade connector sound alike but fit different hardware, and the naming overlap is sorted out in spade connector types. A quick disconnect carries a wire to a flat tab; the sections below size that tab.

VoltixC FDFN nylon fully insulated female quick disconnect
Photo: an FDFN receptacle; the translucent nylon sleeve covers the body, and the two rolled edges show at the open front.
VoltixC MDD vinyl-insulated male quick disconnect tab
Photo: an MDD male tab with a round hole in the blade and a blue vinyl sleeve over the barrel.
SIZES · WIDTH × THICKNESS

What are the female spade connector sizes by tab width and thickness?

The receptacle follows the tab it mates with, and UL 310 names five nominal widths: 2.8, 3.2, 4.8, 5.2 and 6.3 mm, or 0.110, 0.125, 0.187, 0.205 and 0.250 in.

Tab width (in)Tab width (mm)Thickness in Burndy’s listingNamed in
0.1102.80.02 in (about 0.5 mm), listed as 0.11 × 0.02UL 310; IEC 61210; Burndy QP-F
0.1253.2Not in that listingUL 310
0.1874.80.02 in (about 0.5 mm), listed as 0.19 × 0.02UL 310; IEC 61210; Burndy QP-F
0.2055.2Not in that listingUL 310
0.2506.30.03 in (about 0.8 mm), listed as 0.25 × 0.03UL 310; IEC 61210; Burndy QP-F
Not stated9.5Not statedIEC 61210
0.38Not stated0.05 in (about 1.3 mm); Burndy marks these items ‘Not cULus’Burndy QP-F

Source: UL 310 and IEC 61210 scope summaries and Burndy’s QP-F listing; the inch-to-mm pairs are as UL 310 gives them, and thickness in mm is converted and rounded here.

Mating tab width (mm)Mating tab thickness (mm)Part-number suffixFemale series and wire bands (AWG)Male series and wire bands (AWG)Part numbers
2.80.5-110FDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFD 22-16, 16-14MDD 22-166
2.80.8-110FDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFD 22-16, 16-14MDD 22-166
4.750.5-187FDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFD 22-16, 16-14MDD 22-16, 16-147
4.750.8-187FDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFD 22-16, 16-14MDD 22-16, 16-147
5.20.5-205FDD 22-16, 16-14—2
5.20.8-205FDD 22-16, 16-14—2
6.350.8-250 (FDFN, MDFN print no suffix)FDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FDFN 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; FLDNY 22-16, 16-14, 12-10MDD 22-16, 16-14, 12-10; MDFN 22-16, 16-14, 12-1018
8.00.8-312FDD 22-16, 16-14—2
9.41.2-375FDD 16-14, 12-10—2

Source: VoltixC supplier specification sheets, 52 part numbers, each printed with its mating tab size; not individually re-tested.

Spec note: Put width and thickness on the order line as one pair, in the unit your drawing uses; a width with no thickness leaves half of the fit open.

Calipers across the flat face give the width, and a micrometer or calipers across the edge give the thickness. The VoltixC chart gives the same two numbers for each part number, taken from the supplier sheets.

SHAPE · 7 OPTIONS

Which quick disconnect shapes are there: straight, flag, piggyback, locking or stud-mount tab?

Straight receptacles and male tabs cover open panels, a flag receptacle turns the wire through 90° for tight spots, a piggyback adds a second tab, and locking or stud-mount designs hold the joint or the tab in place.

On a crowded appliance control board, the space in front of each tab decides the body. Where a lid or a relay sits close to the tab, the wire has to leave sideways, and a flag receptacle does that; with room to spare, a straight one goes on.

ShapeGenderWire exitExtra functionVoltixC series
Straight receptacleFemaleIn line with the tabSlides straight onFDD (vinyl barrel sleeve), FDFD (vinyl, fully insulated), FDFN (nylon, fully insulated)
Flag receptacleFemale90° to the tabSaves depth in front of the tabFLDNY (nylon)
Male tabMaleIn linePuts the tab on the harness sideMDD (vinyl barrel sleeve), MDFN (nylon, fully insulated)
Dimpled detentFemaleIn lineGrips the tab; according to Burndy, a dimpled female socket detent on its quick disconnects ensures a firm grip on the tabDetent style confirmed per order
PiggybackFemale, with a male tab on its backIn lineTakes a second connection on the same tabNot on the current list; ask before you specify
LockingFemale, male or bothIn lineA latch holds the two halves togetherNot on the current list; ask before you specify
Stud-mount tabMaleSet by the mountingFixes the tab to a stud or panelNot on the current list; ask before you specify

Source: shape descriptions are general; the detent row is Burndy’s QP-F listing; VoltixC series from supplier data as listed.

If the device already carries a piggyback or a locking tab, send a photo of it with the enquiry, because none of the six listed series copies those shapes. A flag part and a straight part of the same wire band take the same crimp; only the exit direction changes.

Tip: Before you choose flag or straight, hold a ruler in front of the tab and note the gap to the nearest lid or part; write that gap on the enquiry next to the tab size.

VoltixC FLDNY nylon flag female quick disconnect
Photo: an FLDNY flag receptacle; the blue nylon body turns the wire exit to a right angle from the opening.
VoltixC FDD vinyl-insulated female quick disconnect
Photo: an FDD straight receptacle with a red vinyl sleeve on the barrel and the metal receptacle left bare.
INSULATION · CRIMP ZONES

Which insulation options exist, and how many crimps does each need?

Count the crimp zones: nylon parts built for double crimping take two, and a single vinyl or bare barrel takes one.

A fully insulated part carries its sleeve over the receptacle too, so the mating point stays covered once the tab is in. VoltixC lists PVC (vinyl) on FDD, FDFD and MDD and nylon on FDFN, FLDNY and MDFN, and the crimp zones of each series are confirmed per order. The supplier sheets print 75 for the PVC series and 105 for the nylon series with no unit symbol, and no voltage rating for any of the six, so ask before you specify a rating.

InsulationCrimp zonesCovers the mating pointVoltixC series
Bare (non-insulated)One, on the wire barrelNoNot on the current list; ask before you specify
Vinyl barrel sleeveOne, through the sleeveNo; the receptacle or tab stays bareFDD, MDD
Vinyl, fully insulatedConfirmed per orderYes; the sleeve runs over the receptacleFDFD
Nylon, fully insulatedTwo where the part is built for double crimping; confirmed per orderYesFDFN, MDFN (how far the MDFN shroud reaches along the tab is confirmed per order)
Nylon flagConfirmed per orderCoverage confirmed per orderFLDNY
Heat-shrink sleeveCrimp, then heat the sleeve to insulate the jointSealed once shrunkNot on the current list; ask before you specify
PointWhat the data saysSource
VinylVinyl insulation is the most economical option and gives basic protection against accidental contactWaytek
Nylon, double crimpMany nylon-insulated terminals are designed for double crimping, which adds strain relief and tensile strengthWaytek
Insulation support sleeveThe copper insulation-support sleeve lets the wire bend in any direction without fraying the insulation or breaking the conductorTE Connectivity, PIDG page
Heat shrinkHeat-shrink insulated terminals seal tightly when heated properly, giving moisture resistance and corrosion protectionWaytek
Bare barrelNon-insulated terminals should only be used where no additional electrical protection is necessaryWaytek
One maker’s vinyl ratingBurndy’s vinyl-insulated female quick disconnects are tin-plated brass rated 600 V max and 105 °C max; the figures belong to Burndy’s partsBurndy QP-F listing

Source: Waytek, TE Connectivity and Burndy pages listed under References; none of them describes VoltixC parts.

VoltixC FDFD vinyl fully insulated female quick disconnect
Photo: an FDFD receptacle; the red vinyl sleeve covers the body right up to the opening.
Horizontal electric injection molding machine at VoltixC
Photo: a horizontal electric injection molding machine at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; no sleeve test is described here.
WIRE BAND · COLOUR

How do you match wire gauge and colour band to the tab?

Pick the barrel by wire band and the receptacle by tab size; the sleeve colour only marks the band, and colour ranges vary by maker.

Every VoltixC series covers three bands, 22-16, 16-14 and 12-10 AWG, which the supplier sheets print as 0.5-1.5, 1.5-2.5 and 4-6 mm² with red, blue and yellow sleeves. Measure the jacket as well as the conductor, since the insulation grip closes on the jacket. Aluminium wire needs a terminal made for it; both scope summaries below leave it out.

PointWhat the data saysSource
UL 310 wire scopeUL 310 requirements apply to quick-connect terminals for one or two 26–10 AWG copper conductors and do not apply to terminals for aluminum conductorsULSE, UL 310 listing
IEC 61210 wire scopeIEC 61210 covers copper conductors up to 6 mm² flexible or rigid stranded, or up to 2.5 mm² rigid solid, excludes aluminium, and limits rated voltage to 1,000 V AC / 1,500 V DCIEC 61210 summary, iTeh Standards
Jacket diameterInsulation outside diameters vary among wires with the same AWG size, so the insulation barrel must accommodate the wire’s outside diameter and the crimp range must match itTE Connectivity, Guide to Crimping

Source: the standards summaries and maker guide named in each row.

VoltixC MDFN nylon fully insulated male quick disconnect
Photo: an MDFN male tab inside a translucent pink nylon sleeve that shrouds the tab.
Wire band (AWG)mm²Sleeve colour on the sheetsFemale, straightFemale, flagMale
22-160.5-1.5RedFDD1.25 (8 part numbers), FDFD1.25 (5 part numbers), FDFN1.25FLDNY1.25-250MDD1.25 (5 part numbers), MDFN1.25
16-141.5-2.5BlueFDD2 (9 part numbers), FDFD2 (5 part numbers), FDFN2FLDNY2-250MDD2 (3 part numbers), MDFN2
12-104-6YellowFDD5.5 (6 part numbers), FDFD5.5-250, FDFN5.5FLDNY5.5-250MDD5.5-250, MDFN5.5

Source: VoltixC supplier specification sheets; part-number counts per family; not individually re-tested.

BARREL · OPEN OR CLOSED

F-crimp open barrel or closed barrel: which crimp type fits your line?

Choose open barrel when the line crimps from strip or reel on an applicator, and closed barrel when parts are crimped one at a time with a hand tool or bench die.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
The line feeds terminals from a reel into an applicatorSpecify open-barrel parts on strip. According to iCrimp, open-barrel terminals need a crimping tool that forms an F- or B-type crimpThe applicator’s crimp form is named on the order
Parts are crimped loose at a bench or on siteChoose closed-barrel parts; iCrimp describes closed-barrel crimp terminals as having a cylindrical metal barrel with no gapThe wire enters a closed tube, not an open pair of wings
The part has a wire barrel and an insulation barrelCrimp the conductor firmly and the jacket grip more lightly. In TE Connectivity’s guide, the wire barrel provides the electrical and mechanical connection, while the insulation barrel provides strain relief and requires a more relaxed crimp without providing an electrical connectionThe jacket is gripped, not cut
The die cavity and the sleeve do not agreeUse the cavity marked for the wire band on the partThe sleeve comes out whole, with no split
You order one of VoltixC’s pre-insulated seriesName loose, strip or reel packing on the enquiryThe quotation names the packing

Tool setup, die choice and the pull check are covered in the wire crimping guide. VoltixC sells no crimp tools, so the tool model comes from your own line.

ENQUIRY · 11 FIELDS

Which spec fields should you ask a supplier for?

Ask for the terminal type, wire size, mating tab width and thickness, orientation, base material, plating, insulation, insertion force, operating temperature range and packaging, each as a figure or a named document.

FieldWhat to ask forWhy it matters
Terminal type and genderFemale receptacle, male tab, flag or piggybackIt fixes the series before any size
Wire sizeAWG band or mm²It picks the barrel
Mating tab width and thicknessWidth × thickness in inch or mmThe receptacle is made for both
OrientationStraight or 90° flagIt sets where the wire leaves
Base materialThe alloy named on the drawingVoltixC sheets print copper for FDD and brass for the other five series
PlatingThe finish named on the drawingTin on all six VoltixC series, per the supplier sheets
InsulationVinyl, nylon, fully insulated or bareIt sets crimp zones and coverage
Insertion forceThe figure from your drawing or standardThis guide gives no value; ask how the supplier checks it
Operating temperature rangeThe range on the drawingVoltixC sheets print 75 (PVC) or 105 (nylon) with no unit symbol, so confirm the unit and range
PackagingLoose, strip or reelHand tools take loose parts; applicators take strip or reel
Standard namedUL 310 or IEC 61210ULSE states that UL 486C does not apply to terminal wire connectors, flat quick-connect terminals or soldering lugs

One line per part keeps the reply easy to check: tab size, band, shape, sleeve and a count. Drawings and photos of the device can go by email to hugo@voltixconnect.com. Quantities, samples and delivery are agreed per order in the reply.

Temperature-rise tester at VoltixC
Photo: a temperature-rise tester at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; no quick disconnect result is given here.
FIT PROBLEMS · 12 CHECKS

Which female spade sizing mistakes cause loose, forced or wrong-gender fits?

A loose or forced fit starts when the width is taken as the whole size and the thickness, the gender or the wire band is left to chance.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
A 0.187 in receptacle meets a 0.250 in tab, or the reverseMeasure the tab and order the matching widthThe receptacle slides on with steady hand force
The width matches but the thickness does notQuote the thickness with the width; Burndy’s listing pairs 0.19 in with 0.02 in and 0.25 in with 0.03 inThe part neither rattles nor needs forcing
Two receptacles, or two tabs, arrive for one jointState the gender: female for a tab on the device, male where the harness carries the tabEach joint has one tab and one receptacle
The wire band is read as the tab sizeKeep them apart; 22-16, 16-14 and 12-10 AWG describe the barrel, not the tabThe order line carries both figures
A fully insulated part will not fit the housingCheck the clearance around the tab first; a barrel-sleeve part leaves the receptacle bare and takes less roomThe housing closes with the part seated
Sleeve colour is taken as proof of sizeRead the band and the tab size from the item list, since colour ranges vary by makerThe item code on the bag matches the order
A crimped part feels loose or needs a hard pushCut it off and crimp a new part in the die cavity for its bandThe joint seats by hand and stays put
A loose joint shakes in serviceStop the movement at the joint. Tin-plated contacts are highly susceptible to fretting corrosion, which limits their use in electrical connectors (Tribology International study)No rub marks on the tab at the next service
Resistance climbs at a joint near a motorReplace worn halves as a pair; fretting can accumulate wear debris and oxidation products into a localized insulating layer, rapidly increasing contact resistance and eventually producing an open circuitA fresh pair seats firmly
The joint sits near heat, damp or vibrationWeigh those conditions when you place it: fretting-corrosion behavior of tin-plated contacts is influenced by fretting amplitude, frequency, temperature, humidity, normal load, and current loadThe layout keeps the joint away from the worst of them
The device maker allows a contact lubricantFollow the maker’s instruction; in one study, lubrication is reported as a preventive strategy that increases the lifetime of tin-plated contacts under fretting by several foldsThe lubricant is named in the maker’s instruction
A low-force joint is expected to last without checksPlan a check at service intervals; an IEEE paper identifies fretting corrosion as a typical problem in low-force electrical contactsThe service sheet includes the joint

This guide gives no insertion-force or current figures. The device maker’s drawing or your own standard sets them, and every sample check runs against your own tab.

Caution: Do not squeeze a receptacle with pliers to tighten a loose fit. Replace it with a part made for the tab thickness.

Automatic insertion and extraction force tester at VoltixC
Photo: an automatic insertion and extraction force tester at VoltixC, a machine that measures push and pull force on plug-in contacts; no quick disconnect result is given here.
VOLTIXC · 6 SERIES · 52 PARTS

Which quick disconnects does VoltixC list?

VoltixC lists six series on its quick disconnect terminals page: FDD, FDFD and FDFN female receptacles, MDD and MDFN male tabs, and the FLDNY flag receptacle.

SeriesGender and shapeSleeveBody and platingWire bands (AWG)Mating tab widths (mm)Part numbers
FDDFemale, straightPVC (vinyl), barrel onlyCopper, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-102.8, 4.75, 5.2, 6.35, 8.0, 9.423
FDFDFemale, straight, fully insulatedPVC (vinyl)Brass, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-102.8, 4.75, 6.3511
FDFNFemale, straight, fully insulatedNylonBrass, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-106.353
FLDNYFemale, 90° flagNylonBrass, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-106.353
MDDMale tabPVC (vinyl), barrel onlyBrass, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-102.8, 4.75, 6.359
MDFNMale tab, fully insulatedNylonBrass, tin-plated22-16, 16-14, 12-106.353

Source: VoltixC supplier specification sheets; not individually re-tested.

When samples arrive, push each receptacle onto your own tab and check it against Wiltronics’ guidance that after crimping, a quick-connect spade should mate firmly with the matching blade without feeling loose or needing unreasonable force. Quotes state the sample timing, with fastest sampling from 7 days, confirmed per order.

VoltixC CE attestation under the Low Voltage Directive
Photo: the CE certificate image VoltixC keeps on file; its number, scope and validity are not shown here.
VoltixC RoHS test report (SGS)
Photo: the RoHS test report image on file at VoltixC.

FAQ about female spade connector sizes

Does a wider tab always carry more current?

No. The width only tells you which receptacle fits the tab, while the current rating comes from the terminal and wire specification on the drawing and from the part’s own data sheet.

What makes a female flag disconnect different?

Its receptacle turns the wire exit through 90°, so the wire runs flat along the panel where a straight part would hit a lid or a neighbouring relay, and VoltixC’s FLDNY series is the nylon flag version in the 22-16, 16-14 and 12-10 AWG wire bands.

When is a piggyback terminal useful?

When a second wire has to land on a tab that is already taken. The piggyback receptacle goes onto the tab and carries its own male tab on the back, so the original mating point stays in use. Piggyback parts are not on the current VoltixC list, so ask before you specify one.

How many crimps does nylon insulation need?

Two, where the part is built that way: one on the wire barrel and one on the insulation grip. Many nylon-insulated terminals are designed for double crimping, which adds strain relief and tensile strength, as Waytek notes.

What should I send with an enquiry?

Send the tab width and thickness, the wire band, male or female, straight or flag, the sleeve material, the packing and a count for each line, plus a photo or drawing of the tab if you have one.

Are locking quick disconnects available in every size?

Only where the maker lists them. A locking or stud-mount part has to be checked against that maker’s own list, because the tab size says nothing about a latch or a mounting hole. None of the six VoltixC series uses either design, and an enquiry for one is checked before any quote.

How do you measure spade connector size?

Put calipers across the flat face of the male tab for the width and across its edge for the thickness, then compare the width with UL 310’s list of 2.8, 3.2, 4.8, 5.2 and 6.3 mm (0.110, 0.125, 0.187, 0.205 and 0.250 in). The wire band on the sleeve is a separate reading.

METHOD NOTE

How this guide was written: tab sizes come from the UL 310 and IEC 61210 scope summaries and from Burndy’s QP-F listing. The insulation and barrel notes follow Waytek, TE Connectivity and iCrimp pages, the fit check a Wiltronics article, and the fretting notes two research papers. VoltixC ran no tests for this guide. The six series and their 52 part numbers come from the VoltixC supplier specification sheets and have not each been re-tested.

RESOURCES · 11 SOURCES

References

  1. UL Standards & Engagement. UL 310, quick-connect terminals, standard listing. https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?UniqueKey=45470
  2. UL Standards & Engagement. UL 486C, standard listing. https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?UniqueKey=44536
  3. iTeh Standards. IEC 61210 flat quick-connect terminations, scope summary. https://standards.iteh.ai/catalog/standards/sist/1088ace3-001a-473c-b21e-342c8952e86a/sist-en-61210-2011
  4. Burndy. QP-F quick disconnect listing, PDF hosted by Gescan. https://cdn.gescan.com/PIM_Docs/Docs/STEP_ASSETS_PDF/14393941.pdf
  5. TE Connectivity. Guide to Crimping, PDF. https://www.te.com/content/dam/te-com/documents/appliances/global/guide-to-crimping.pdf
  6. TE Connectivity. PIDG terminals and splices, brand page. https://www.te.com/en/products/brands/pidg.html
  7. iCrimp. What is the difference between open and closed barrel crimps, article. https://www.icrimptools.com/blogs/crimping/what-is-the-difference-between-open-and-closed-barrel-crimps
  8. Waytek. Insulated vs non-insulated terminals 101, blog article. https://www.waytekwire.com/aboutus/the-waytek-blog/terminals-and-connectors/insulated-vs-non-insulated-terminals-101
  9. Wiltronics. How to crimp insulated wire connectors, knowledge base. https://www.wiltronics.com.au/wiltronics-knowledge-base/how-to-crimp-insulated-wire-connectors/
  10. Tribology International. Research article on fretting corrosion of tin-plated contacts, on ScienceDirect. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0301679X07000333
  11. IEEE Xplore. Research paper on fretting corrosion in low-force electrical contacts. https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/4063134/
About the publisher

VoltixC is the brand of Guangzhou FuTeXin Technology Co., Ltd. It makes the six quick disconnect series this guide uses as examples; crimp tools are outside its range.

  • Founded in 2021 in Guangzhou, China
  • Factory of 1,200 m² with 25 staff
  • 135 production machines on site
  • CE under the Low Voltage Directive 2014/35/EU for the full terminal range, UL certified, and RoHS test report available (SGS); certificate numbers and dates are not published here
  • Address: No. 50 Juyuan Street, Shijing Street, Baiyun District, Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
  • Email hugo@voltixconnect.com, with enquiries answered 24/7