GUIDE · LUG DRAWINGS · 11 SECTIONS

Cable Lug Dimensions: Read the Barrel, Palm and Hole Letters Before You Order

By VoltixC Engineering Team · Last updated: 2026-09-28

Fast answer: Cable lug dimensions on a drawing describe the barrel (inside diameter, outside diameter and length), the palm (width and thickness), the hole (diameter and distance to the end) and the overall length. Lugs for the same mm² differ by family, so confirm the angle, hole spacing and tolerances for your cabinet before you order.

A panel builder holds a supplier drawing next to a busbar that already has its holes drilled. The hole diameter and the distance from hole centre to palm end get checked first, since they decide whether the lug lands on the bar at all. Palm width goes against the slot in the enclosure after that, the barrel length against the room behind the door, and the barrel bore against the stranded conductor. The VoltixC range of cable lugs covers tube, DIN 46235, two-hole, narrow-palm and sight-hole families.

Family differences and fit checks here draw on DIN 46235 and DIN 46234 pages from Klauke, Weidmüller, LAPP and Phoenix Contact, plus the IEC 61238-1-1, EN 13600 and ASTM B258 scope summaries. Size-by-size values sit in the cable lug size chart. The letters follow the VoltixC specification sheets, where tube-lug rows print the barrel ID d, barrel OD D, overall length L, palm width B and stud hole Φ; palm thickness and tolerances are not printed and are confirmed per order against your drawing.

AT A GLANCE · 11 SPECS

Cable lug dimensions at a glance: which numbers does a drawing carry?

A cable lug drawing carries three groups of numbers, for the barrel, for the palm and hole, and for position and overall size, plus extra fields when the lug is angled, drilled twice or plated to a spec.

SpecWhat to captureWorking value
Barreld inside diameter, D outside diameter, barrel length (E or B, by sheet)d and D printed for every VoltixC tube-lug part number; barrel length on most
Palm and holeB palm width (W on some sheets), palm thickness, Φ stud hole diameterAccording to Klauke, compression cable lug conductor nominal cross-sections range from 6 mm² to 1000 mm² and connecting-bolt holes from M5 to M20
Position and overall sizeHole centre to palm end, L overall lengthL printed for straight parts; hole centre to palm end is not printed and is confirmed per order
Special geometryAngle, hole spacing, second barrelVoltixC tube lugs are listed straight, at 45° and at 90°, and its 66 two-hole part numbers (AD and CL-2H) print the hole spacing
Sheet-metal terminal rangeConductor size and bolt hole on a DIN 46234 partKlauke gives DIN solderless terminal conductor nominal cross-sections from 0.5 mm² to 240 mm² and bolt holes from M2 to M16
Material and plating (per drawing)Base metal, plating, temperature limitLAPP lists electrolytic copper with a temperature range up to +120°C for its KB lugs
Second maker’s material lineSame fields on another data sheetOn Phoenix Contact’s ring lug, the material is copper with a tin-plated coating and the operating ambient temperature is 110°C
Tolerance line (per drawing)Permitted deviation for each lettered valueNot printed on the VoltixC sheets; taken from your drawing and confirmed per order
Conductor size (mm² / AWG)Cross-section and conductor classmm² printed for every VoltixC tube-lug part, AWG or kcmil on most; conductor class confirmed per order
Type-test size spanConductor areas a type-test standard coversIEC 61238-1-1 specifies IEC 60228 conductor areas of 2.5–1200 mm² for copper and 16–1200 mm² for aluminium
Worked example at 300 mm²Printed fields of one part numberDIN300-12 on the VoltixC DIN sheet: stud hole Φ 13, barrel ID d 24.5, barrel OD D 32, overall length L 119 and palm width W 46 mm

Source: VoltixC rows per supplier specification sheet, not re-tested; other rows from the sources cited below.

Both 300 mm² and 630 mm² sit inside the 6–1000 mm² span Klauke gives for DIN 46235 compression lugs. On the VoltixC sheets, 300 mm² parts appear in eight series and 630 mm² parts in three, and the family comparison below lists their printed sizes.

Also asked asShort answerCovered in
300mm cable lug dimensionsEight VoltixC series list 300 mm² parts; barrel ID runs from 23.4 to 26 mm and overall length from 87 to 133 mmThe 300 and 630 mm² table in the DIN 46235 family comparison
630 sq mm cable lug dimensionsT630, LYF630 and SC630 are listed; barrel ID 34.5–39 mm and barrel OD 44.7–53 mmThe same table
copper cable lug dimensionsd, D, L, B and Φ on each tube-lug row; palm thickness and tolerance are confirmed per orderWhich dimensions appear on every cable lug drawing
lug selection by drawingPick the family, then match d to the conductor, Φ to the stud and B to the slotWhich dimension checks predict a bad install
manufacturer lug drawingAsk the manufacturer for the sheet row and add your tolerance lineHow do you get VoltixC lug drawings
ANATOMY · LETTERS ON THE SHEET

Which dimensions appear on every cable lug drawing?

Every cable lug drawing gives the barrel inside diameter, outside diameter and length, the palm width and thickness, the hole diameter, the hole centre-to-end distance, the overall length and the angle.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
The conductor has to enter the barrelRead d, the barrel inside diameter, against the stranded conductorThe stripped conductor goes in to the end of the bore without trimming strands
The die has to close on the barrelRead D, the barrel outside diameter, against the die you plan to useThe die marking and D refer to the same lug size
Strip length depends on the barrelRead the barrel length, lettered E on some VoltixC sheets and B on others, before you set the strip lengthNo bare strands show between the barrel and the insulation
The palm has to sit flat on the busbar, terminal or grounding barRead B, the palm width (W on some sheets), against the face it lands onThe palm stays inside the face with no overhang
The bolt clamps through the palmRead the palm thickness with its tolerance; the VoltixC tube-lug sheets do not print itThe bolt length covers the palm, the bar and the washer stack
The bolt has to pass the holeRead Φ, the stud hole diameter, against the stud or bolt sizeThe bolt goes through without reaming
The hole has to line up with the barRead the distance from hole centre to palm end on your drawingThe palm end clears the next conductor or wall
The lug has to fit the spaceRead L, the overall length, plus the room the cable needs to bendThe door or cover closes with the cable seated
The cable has to leave the termination in one directionRead the angle, 0°, 45° or 90°, and the side the palm turns toThe quote names both the angle and its direction
The drawing cites a standardCheck the standard named on the drawing; according to Klauke, DIN 46235 defines the applications, dimensions and designation of compression cable lugsThe standard number appears in the title block

The letters follow the VoltixC tube-lug sheets: d, D, L, B and Φ. Check the legend on each sheet before you compare two drawings, because the same letter can mark a different feature, and B is the palm width on the T sheet but the barrel length on the DIN sheet. The compression and mechanical lug sheets letter their drawings A to H in their own way. Choosing a family comes before reading its drawing, and how to choose cable lugs covers that choice.

VoltixC T series 45-degree tinned copper tube lug
Photo: a T series tube lug bent at 45°, with the open end of the barrel and a single round hole in the palm in view.
VoltixC TL series straight non-insulated copper tube terminal
Photo: a straight TL tube terminal; the flat palm with one hole runs in line with the barrel.
SAME MM² · THREE FAMILIES

Why do DIN 46235, EN 13600 tubular and solderless sheet lugs differ at the same mm²?

At one mm², a DIN 46235 compression lug, a tubular lug made from copper tube and a DIN 46234 solderless terminal are built from different stock to different documents, so their barrels and palms differ.

On a switchboard drawing that names DIN 46235, the standard fixes the lug geometry; a drawing that gives only a cross-section leaves the family open, and the barrel and palm then follow whichever maker’s table the quote uses.

FamilyWhat the standard or maker coversStock and finishConductorsSizes and useVoltixC page
DIN 46235 compression lugDIN Media lists DIN 46235 as cable lugs for compression connections, cover plate type, for copper conductorsTube; Klauke’s DIN lugs are made from electrolyte copper and tin plated as standard for corrosion protectionRound conductors of EN 60228 classes 1, 2, 5 and 6 on Klauke’s DIN lugs6 mm² to 1000 mm², bolt holes M5 to M20 (Klauke)DIN 46235 cable lugs, 68 part numbers in 18 cross-sections
Tubular lug from drawn copper tubeEN 13600 specifies composition, property requirements including electrical properties, and dimensional and form tolerances for seamless drawn copper tubes used for electrical purposes (iTeh summary)Tube; the tube standard is industry context and is not stated for VoltixC partsSet by each maker’s tableSet by each maker’s tabletinned copper lugs: T, TL, TLK, LYF and CL-H series
DIN 46234 solderless terminalAccording to Klauke, DIN 46234 solderless terminals have standard requirements for application, dimensions and designationMade from copper sheets, unlike compression lugs made using tubes, with a soldered joint (Klauke)Round conductors of EN 60228 classes 2, 5 and 6 on Klauke’s terminalsKlauke names control cabinet construction and rail-vehicle construction as usesNot on the current list; ask before you specify

Source: DIN Media, iTeh Standards and Klauke pages listed under References; none of them describes VoltixC parts.

PointWhat the data saysSource
DIN 46235 conductor buildsDIN 46235 compression cable lugs may be used for one, several, fine and super-fine stranded conductorsKlauke
DIN 46235 cable typesThe lugs are for non-tension copper cables such as DIN 48201-1 and pre-rounded multi-stranded sector conductorsKlauke
DIN 46234 conductor buildsDIN 46234 solderless terminals are crimped with several, fine and super-fine stranded conductorsKlauke
Both families in one rangeThe accessory range lists compression cable lugs to DIN 46235 and sheet-metal cable lugs to DIN 46234Weidmüller
A sheet-lug catalogueKB products are uninsulated cable lugs/solderless terminals according to DIN 46234 made from electrolytic copperLAPP
Where sheet lugs goThe application range includes cables with category 2, 5 and 6 conductors, control cabinets/equipment, and trains/busesLAPP
One maker’s buildThe ring cable lug is designed according to DIN 46234, brazed and tin platedPhoenix Contact

Source: maker pages named in each row.

On the VoltixC sheets, a 300 mm² lug has a barrel ID from 23.4 to 26 mm and an overall length from 87 to 133 mm, depending on the series.

Part numbermm²Stud holes listed (mm)Barrel ID (mm)Barrel OD (mm)Overall length (mm)Palm width (mm)
DIN300 (4 part numbers)30013, 15, 17, 2124.532119–12246
T300 (5 part numbers)30010.5, 13.2, 14.5, 16.5, 2123.428.69642
TL300 (4 part numbers)30010.5, 13, 14.5, 16.523.428.613341.7
LYF300 (5 part numbers)30010.5, 13, 17, 21, 26263211447
TLK300 (4 part numbers)30013, 15, 17, 2123.529.511143
SC300 (5 part numbers)30010.5, 13, 15, 17, 21243010043.7
DT300 (2 part numbers)30017, 21243112045
XK300 (3 part numbers)30010.5, 13, 1723.531.38731
T630 (5 part numbers)63010.5, 13.2, 14.5, 16.5, 2134.544.7133.164
LYF630 (2 part numbers)63021, 26395318075
SC630 (5 part numbers)63010.5, 13, 15, 17, 21354513565

Source: VoltixC supplier specification sheets, one row per series and size; palm width is lettered B on some sheets and W on others; values not re-tested.

A drawing with no standard on it needs the family written on the enquiry. Send the conductor class and the busbar or bolt size with it, and the quote names the family and its table. Check that the die marking matches the lug family before a sample crimp.

Tip: When a drawing gives only mm², ask which family it means before you compare lettered values; a tube lug and a sheet terminal of the same mm² are different parts.

VoltixC DIN 46235 copper compression cable lug
Photo: a DIN 46235 compression lug with a straight barrel, a flat palm and one hole; crimp position marks run along the barrel.
CONSTRUCTION · EXTRA DIMENSIONS

Which extra dimensions do double barrels, flared entries, sight holes, angled palms and two-hole spacing add?

A two-hole palm adds the hole spacing, an angled palm adds the angle and its direction, a flared entry adds the mouth diameter, a sight hole adds its position, and a double barrel adds the barrel spacing.

On a crowded busbar with pre-drilled holes, the spacing between two bolt holes decides the lug before its wire band does. In a shallow enclosure the cable exit angle comes first.

ConstructionExtra dimension you must specifyWhy it mattersVoltixC series
Two-hole palmCentre-to-centre spacing of the two holes and the diameter of eachBoth holes have to meet holes already drilled in the barAD and CL-2H on the two-hole lugs page, 66 part numbers with the hole spacing printed for each
45° or 90° palmThe angle and the side the palm turns toIt sets where the cable leaves the terminalT and LYF listed straight and at 45°, TLK straight and at 90°; the copper compression lugs are listed at 0°, 45° and 90°
Sight hole in the barrelDistance of the hole from the barrel endThe installer sees the conductor tip before crimpingGC series on the copper tube ring terminals page; position confirmed per order
Flared (bell-mouth) entryMouth diameter and flare lengthStrands are guided into the boreGC series, which pairs the sight hole with a bell mouth
Narrow palm or narrow tonguePalm width at the hole and at the barrelThe palm has to pass a slot on a breaker or terminal blockTPE and XK on the narrow-palm copper lugs page
Double barrelSpacing between barrels and the bore of eachTwo conductors land on one palmNot on the current list for compression lugs; custom tooling on request, so ask before you specify
Blank palm for drilling on sitePalm size with no hole, or the hole size to be drilledThe hole is set by the installerNot on the current list; custom tooling on request, so ask before you specify

Source: construction descriptions are general; VoltixC series, angles and hole spacing per supplier specification sheet.

A construction missing from the table is a special request. Send a sketch with the extra dimension marked, and the quote states whether tooling is needed.

VoltixC CL-2H two-hole copper tube lug
Photo: a CL-2H lug with a long flat palm carrying two holes in line and a slim barrel at the far end.
VoltixC GC sight-hole bell-mouth copper cable lug
Photo: a GC lug with a sight hole cut into the barrel just below the palm.
VoltixC TPE narrow-palm copper cable lug
Photo: a TPE lug whose palm is barely wider than its barrel, with the hole close to the tip.
VoltixC TLK 90-degree copper tube terminal
Photo: a TLK terminal bent at 90°, the palm and its hole at a right angle to the barrel.
MECHANICAL · BIMETALLIC

What extra numbers do mechanical and bimetallic lugs add?

A mechanical lug adds the set-screw size and its tool, the wire range of each barrel, the barrel count and the mounting-hole spacing; a bimetallic lug adds the joint between an aluminium barrel and a copper palm.

The conductor in a mechanical lug sits under a screw instead of a crimp, so its drawing describes the clamp as well as the palm.

FieldWhat to read on the drawingWhy it mattersVoltixC
Set screwThread size and the key or driver it takesThe installer brings the right tool and the maker’s tightening instructionHex size or slot printed per catalogue number; tightening torque is not listed and comes per model with the quote
Wire range per barrelSmallest and largest conductor each barrel acceptsOne barrel may take a range, not a single sizePrinted per catalogue number, from #14 AWG to 1000 kcmil
Barrel count and stackingOne barrel, two side by side, or stackedEach extra barrel adds a conductor and a spacing figureOn the aluminum and copper mechanical lugs page, AM bodies take up to four conductors and CM stops at one conductor or two holes
Mounting holesNumber of holes, their diameter and spacingThe base bolts to a panel or bar with those holesBolt size printed per catalogue number; hole count and spacing confirmed per order
Anti-turn ribWhether the base has a rib that keys into the panelA rib stops the lug from turning as the screw is tightenedConfirmed per order
Conductor ratingCopper only, or aluminium and copperThe body material limits which conductor goes inAM bodies are aluminum; CM bodies are listed as aluminum alloy and named for copper conductors; conductor rating is not stated on the sheets
Bimetallic jointPosition of the joint between aluminium barrel and copper palmThe copper face goes on the copper bar, the aluminium barrel on the conductorNot on the current list; ask before you specify

Source: field descriptions are general; VoltixC entries per supplier specification sheet and series summary.

The bimetallic row is an industry note. VoltixC lists aluminium and copper mechanical lugs, and the aluminium one-hole and two-hole compression lugs, but no copper-aluminium bimetallic part.

VoltixC CM copper mechanical lug with set screw
Photo: a CM copper mechanical lug; a slotted set screw sits in the top of a square barrel, and the palm has one hole.
READING · COLUMNS AND NOTES

How do you read a dimension table: letters, tolerances and plating thickness?

Match each column to its letter on the sketch, read the tolerance line under the table, and take plating thickness from the drawing notes.

A row in a lug table is one part: its conductor size, then the lettered sizes in millimetres, then angle, plating and tolerance. On the VoltixC tube-lug sheets each row prints mm² with d, D, B and Φ, and straight lugs add L; all are tin-plated copper. The template below marks what the sheet prints and what the quote confirms. Convert AWG to mm² from the wire standard, and leave the lug code out of that step.

ColumnWhat it holdsOn the VoltixC sheet
ItemThe maker’s part code for the lug or connectorPart number as printed, such as DIN300-12 or TLK50-10-90D
mm² / AWGConductor cross-section or gaugemm² on every tube-lug row; AWG or kcmil on most
Barrel ID (d)Bore the conductor entersPrinted
Barrel OD (D)Outside of the barrel the die closes onPrinted
Barrel length (E or B)Length available for the crimpPrinted on most rows; the letter differs by sheet
Palm width (B or W)Width of the flat contact facePrinted
Palm thicknessThickness under the boltNot printed; confirmed per order
Stud hole (Φ)Bolt or stud clearancePrinted
Hole centre to endDistance from hole centre to palm tipNot printed; confirmed per order
Overall length (L)Tip of the palm to the barrel endPrinted for straight parts; angled parts give leg lengths
Angle0°, 45° or 90°Listed for T, LYF, TLK and the copper one-hole and two-hole compression lugs
Plating thicknessCoating on the copperPlating listed as tin; thickness confirmed per order
TolerancePermitted deviation per dimensionNot printed; taken from your drawing and confirmed per order

Source: VoltixC entries per supplier specification sheets for the tube-lug series; not re-tested.

PointWhat the data saysSource
AWG sizesASTM B258 prescribes standard nominal diameters and cross-sectional areas for AWG sizes of solid round wires used as electrical conductorsASTM
AWG calculationsASTM B258 gives equations and rules for calculating nominal mass, lengths, resistances, and breaking or rated strengths of AWG wiresASTM
Tool code on the lugA code number provides clear tool assignment for the DIN cable lugsKlauke
Tube material lineThe cable lugs are copper under EN 13600 and tin plated to protect against corrosionKlauke
Sheet material lineThe material is copper under EN 13599 and the surface is tin plated for corrosion protectionKlauke, solderless terminals
Temperature on one data sheetThe material is electrolytic copper and the temperature range is up to +120°CLAPP
Temperature on anotherThe material is copper with a tin-plated coating and operating ambient temperature is 110°CPhoenix Contact

Source: ASTM, Klauke, LAPP and Phoenix Contact pages listed under References; the temperature figures belong to those makers’ parts.

Spec note: Write d, D, L, B and Φ in millimetres with the tolerance beside each value; plating thickness goes in the notes, not in a lettered column.

Optical coordinate measuring machine at VoltixC
Photo: an optical coordinate measuring machine at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; no measured lug values are given here.
Surface grinder at VoltixC
Photo: a surface grinder at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; the photo shows the machine only.
FIT CHECKS · 10 PROBLEMS

Which dimension checks predict a bad install?

Check palm width against the terminal slot, barrel length against the enclosure depth, hole spacing against the busbar, the barrel and joint against the crimp, and the angle against the cable route.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
The palm is wider than the slot on the breaker or terminal blockCompare B (W on some sheets), tolerance included, with the slot width on the device drawingThe palm slides into the slot by hand at a trial fitting
The barrel and the cable bend need more depth than the enclosure hasAdd L to the bending room the cable needs and compare the total with the depthThe cover closes after installation with the cable seated
Two-hole spacing differs from the busbarMatch the hole centres to the holes drilled in the bar, and name the spacing on the enquiryBoth bolts go in without forcing the palm
A sector conductor goes into a round barrelAccording to Klauke, sector conductors should be pre-rounded with the corresponding tool before processingThe rounded conductor enters the bore d to full depth
The die shape does not suit the lugKlauke reports that the standard recommends hexagonal crimping dies according to DIN 48083-4 for processing compression cable lugsThe die marking matches the lug size
The barrel wall splits under the dieAsk for the wall, half of D minus d, and the die the maker names as compatible with that lugA sample crimp shows no split
A sheet terminal opens at its seamAsk how the seam is joined; Klauke says soldered-joint quality is key to the crimping result and poor joints may open during crimpingThe seam stays closed after a sample crimp
The crimp area of a sheet terminal is only foldedAsk which joining process the crimp area uses; Klauke’s DIN 46234 terminals use a brazing process thereThe quote names the process
Pull-out strength is questionedAsk how the press zone is made; Phoenix Contact describes its hard-soldered press zone as intended to achieve maximum conductor pull-out valuesThe reply names the press-zone build
An angled lug arrives turned the wrong wayWrite 45° or 90° and the side the palm turns toThe cable leaves toward its route

Klauke and Phoenix Contact describe their own parts in these rows. For a VoltixC order, the joint build and the die are confirmed per order, and a sample crimp on your conductor settles the barrel checks.

Caution: Do not file a palm narrower or drill a hole larger to make a lug fit. Order the part with the right B and Φ instead.

BEYOND DIMENSIONS · TYPE TESTS

What does testing tell you about a lug beyond its dimensions?

Dimensions tell you a lug fits; a type test on the crimped joint tells you it keeps carrying current under heat and fault load, and the result belongs to whoever ran the test.

ProblemWhat to doCheck
The drawing fits, and you also need the joint testedAsk which standard the maker tested to and for which sizes; IEC 61238-1-1 specifies IEC 60228 conductor areas of 2.5–1200 mm² for copper and 16–1200 mm² for aluminiumThe report names the standard, the conductor and the lug size
A maker says its lugs are IEC testedRead the size range the statement covers; Klauke lists its DIN cable lugs as covering 10–800 mm² with IEC testingYour size sits inside that range
A report covers another die or conductor classAsk whether the tested lug, die and conductor match your orderAll three match, or the gap is written down
You want heat-cycle or short-circuit withstand figuresRead them from the report itself; this guide gives no test figuresEach figure has a report number behind it
You see test equipment in factory photosTreat the photos as equipment on site, not as reliability data for your orderThe checks for your order are named in the quote

Naming IEC 61238-1-1 here is not a claim that VoltixC parts were tested to it. The temperature-rise tester, thermal shock chamber and tensile tester below are equipment photos; the checks run on an order are agreed with the quote.

Temperature-rise tester at VoltixC
Photo: a temperature-rise tester at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; no lug result is given here.
Three-zone thermal shock chamber at VoltixC
Photo: a three-zone thermal shock chamber at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment.
Material tensile testing machine at VoltixC
Photo: a material tensile testing machine at VoltixC, shown as factory equipment; no pull-out value is stated.
ENQUIRY · 8 FIELDS

How do you get VoltixC lug drawings?

Send the conductor size, the bolt or stud size, the hole count and the angle with your enquiry; whether a dimension drawing comes with the quote is confirmed per order.

What to sendHow to write itLetters it fixes
Conductor size and classmm² or AWG, plus stranded, fine-stranded or sectord, D and the barrel length
Bolt or stud sizeMetric or inch bolt, one per holeΦ
Hole count and spacingOne hole, or two holes with centre-to-centre spacingΦ and the hole spacing
Angle and direction0°, 45° or 90°, and the side the palm turns toAngle
Space limitsSlot width at the terminal, depth behind the coverB, L
Plating and materialBare or tin-plated copper, or the plating named on your drawingMaterial line
TolerancesThe tolerance line from your drawingAll lettered values
Quantity per lineA count for each item—

Families you can quote from: tinned copper tube lugs, DIN copper compression lugs, two-hole copper lugs and the narrow-palm and narrow-tongue lugs. Wire-to-lug lookups sit in the copper lug size chart, and the background on the standard is in the DIN 46235 guide.

Drawings and photos can go by email to hugo@voltixconnect.com. Quotes state the sample timing, with fastest sampling from 7 days, confirmed per order. Quantities and delivery are agreed per order in the reply.

FAQ about cable lug dimensions

Why are barrel ID and OD both needed?

The inside diameter tells you whether the stranded conductor enters the barrel, and the outside diameter, with the wall between the two, is the copper the die squeezes. On DIN lugs Klauke ties each part to its crimp tool with a code number, so the die is chosen from the lug and not from the wire alone.

Which palm number controls busbar clearance?

Palm width B (W on some sheets) sets how much of the bar or slot face the lug covers, and palm thickness adds to the stack under the bolt head, so both go against the busbar drawing before you order.

What extra number does a two-hole lug need?

The spacing between the two hole centres, plus the diameter of each hole. Two-hole lugs have to meet a pair of holes already drilled in the bar, and a spacing that is off by the width of a bolt stops the second bolt going in. VoltixC lists 66 two-hole part numbers in the AD and CL-2H series, and the specification sheet prints the spacing for each.

Why must a bent lug include its angle?

A 45° or 90° palm sends the cable out in a different direction from a straight one, and the drawing has to say which way the palm turns. VoltixC lists its T and LYF tube lugs straight and at 45°, and TLK straight and at 90°.

Can the same mm² use the same drawing across lug families?

No, because Klauke makes DIN 46234 solderless terminals from copper sheets with a soldered joint, unlike its compression lugs made using tubes, and the barrel and palm change with the stock.

What does a tolerance line protect against?

It protects the fit. A palm width at the top of its tolerance may not enter a narrow slot, and a hole at the bottom of its tolerance may not pass the bolt. Put the tolerance line from your drawing on the enquiry, since the VoltixC specification sheets print no tolerance for any listed part.

What are the specifications of cable lugs?

A lug is specified by conductor size, material and plating, the lettered dimensions, the hole count, the angle and the temperature limit its maker states. Phoenix Contact, for one, gives copper with a tin-plated coating and an operating ambient temperature of 110°C for its ring lug, and that figure belongs to Phoenix Contact’s part.

METHOD NOTE

How this guide was written: the letter meanings follow the VoltixC supplier specification sheets, and the fit checks follow common drawing practice and the DIN 46235 and DIN 46234 pages published by Klauke, Weidmüller, LAPP and Phoenix Contact. Standard scopes come from the DIN Media, iTeh Standards, ASTM and IEC Webstore listings. VoltixC ran no tests for this guide. The part numbers, angles and printed sizes come from those sheets and have not been re-tested; palm thickness, plating thickness and tolerances are not printed there and are confirmed per order.

RESOURCES · 12 SOURCES

References

  1. DIN Media. DIN 46235, cable lugs for compression connections, standard listing. https://www.dinmedia.de/en/standard/din-46235/1044687
  2. iTeh Standards. EN 13600 seamless copper tubes for electrical purposes, scope summary. https://standards.iteh.ai/catalog/standards/cen/bf63896d-cc72-4c79-b3e0-6f7e29da3117/en-13600-2021
  3. ASTM International. ASTM B258, standard nominal diameters and cross-sectional areas of AWG sizes, standard page. https://www.astm.org/Standards/B258.htm
  4. IEC Webstore. IEC 61238-1-1, publication page. https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/29515
  5. Klauke. Compression cable lugs according to DIN 46235, product family page. https://www.klauke.com/se/en/compression-cable-lugs-according-to-din-46235
  6. Klauke. Compression cable lugs DIN 46235, product page. https://www.klauke.com/nz/en/compression-cables-lugs-din-46235
  7. Klauke. Solderless terminal lugs according to DIN 46234, product family page. https://www.klauke.com/dk/en/solderless-terminal-lugs-according-to-46234
  8. Klauke. Solderless terminals to DIN, copper, product page. https://www.klauke.com/il/en/solderless-terminals-to-din-cu
  9. Klauke. Solderless terminal lugs according to DIN 46234, product family page. https://www.klauke.com/bg/en/solderless-terminal-lugs-according-to-46234
  10. Weidmüller. Accessory data sheet, PDF. https://datasheet.weidmueller.com/pdf/en/9006220000/scope/2/
  11. LAPP. Solderless cable lugs KB, online catalogue. https://products.lappgroup.com/online-catalogue/tools-and-cable-accessories/connection-and-crimping/cable-lugs/solderless-cable-lugs-kb.html
  12. Phoenix Contact. Ring cable lug C-RC 70 M6 DIN, product page. https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/products/ring-cable-lug-c-rc-70-m6-din-3240115
About the publisher

VoltixC is the brand of Guangzhou FuTeXin Technology Co., Ltd. It makes the tube, DIN 46235, two-hole, narrow-palm and mechanical lug families this guide uses as examples; crimp tools are outside its range.

  • Founded in 2021 in Guangzhou, China
  • Factory of 1,200 m² with 25 staff
  • 135 production machines on site
  • CE under the Low Voltage Directive 2014/35/EU for the full terminal range, UL certified, and RoHS test report available (SGS); certificate numbers and dates are not published here
  • Address: No. 50 Juyuan Street, Shijing Street, Baiyun District, Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
  • Email hugo@voltixconnect.com, with enquiries answered 24/7